Copyright © PerlesDoDouceLingerie
Are we actually free women?

Self-affirmation influenced by social and cultural standards

Purchasing textile products of strong added-value coincides with a simple ideological message: wearing long-sought lingerie presents a free, blooming and seductive woman. Feminine contemporary elegance is said to be influenced by society. Lingerie would be perceived as enhancive, emancipating, source of accomplished and assumed femininity. These seduction initiatives would pass through a full aware, sensual and intellectual strategy. Testimonials of women or attitudes of teenagers fully show that women find spaces of freedom there, and they manage them according to femininity role-models, where body and sexuality have an absolutely essential place.

Certainly, the choice of refined and comfortable lingerie expresses the influence of social and cultural standards but it also reveals the will of self-affirmation: lingerie appears then less important than the very act of wanting to wear it. Society seems to righteously grant women the power of being different, various, disconcerting and secretive, just like lingerie that would gather the range of underwear for different situations of public and intimate life. They are based on demands of comfort, on seduction games, on elegant effects, on love practices. Another reason would guide this return of women to erotic underwear: the urge to wake up men’s desire against the rising women’s influence in the world of power.

Affirmation of the body does not obstruct development of refined lingerie. On the contrary, lingerie is up to the task and meets a renewed desire of seduction from clientele of both sexes, who search a more erotic femininity. Men’s underwear is also shown for women’s satisfaction since they now choose their partner’s underwear.

The major change in the use of women’s lingerie would depend on the reversal of the connection between women and these intimate objects. The games on underwear mark women’s identity where initiative comes or comes back to the woman.

Do you make a statement, in a certain way, on your freedom through your underwear choice?

Our alienation, according to artist Orlan

But beware of alienation! According to artist Orlan, beauty has become a social obligation, just as work and politeness. By provocation, Orlan proclaims the tyranny of beauty and makes society beware of stereotypes tied to women’s beauty. She did not hesitate to model her body into a work of art, even recurring to aesthetic surgery for this purpose. For more information on Orlan: www.orlan.net.

And you? Do you feel…

Under the obligation to make yourself beautiful every morning?
Under the obligation to respect certain beauty standards to be socially accepted?
That your underwear choice makes you feel more free, comfortable and good about yourself?
Aware or indifferent to beauty stereotypes promoted in our society?
Aware or indifferent to women’s REAL freedom?

Copyright © PerlesDoDouceLingerie
La femme libre; le sommes-nous réellement?

La volonté d’affirmation de soi influencée par les normes sociales et culturelles
L’achat de produits textiles à forte valeur ajoutée coïncide avec un message idéologiquesimple: le port d'une lingerie recherchée désigne une femme libre, épanouie et séductrice. L'élégance féminine contemporaine serait influencée par la collectivité. La lingerie serait perçue comme étant valorisante, qui émancipe, source de féminité accomplie et assumée. Ces initiatives de séduction passeraient par toute une stratégie consciente, sensuelle et intellectuelle. Les  témoignages de femmes ou les attitudes des adolescentes montrent bien que les femmes y trouvent des espaces de liberté qu'elles gèrent selon des modes de féminité, où le corps et la sexualité y tiennent une place tout à fait essentielle.

Le choix d'une lingerie raffinée et confortable exprime bien sûr l'influence de normes sociales et culturelles mais révèle aussi une volonté d'affirmation de soi: la lingerie apparaîtrait alors moins importante que l'acte même de vouloir la porter. La société semble reconnaître aux femmes le pouvoir d'être différentes et multiples, déconcertantes et secrètes, à l'image d'une lingerie qui réunirait des dessous variés pour les situations nombreuses de la vie publique et intime. S'y greffent des exigences de confort, des jeux de séductions, des effets d'élégance, des pratiques d'amour. Une autre raison guiderait ce retour des femmes vers des dessous érotiques, à savoir l'urgence du réveil du désir masculin confronté à la montée en puissance des femmes dans le monde du pouvoir.

L'affirmation du corps n'entrave pas le développement de la lingerie raffinée; au contraire, celle-ci trouve des formes à sa hauteur et rencontre un désir renouvelé de séduction de la part d'une clientèle féminine et masculine en quête d'une féminité plus érotique. Les dessous masculins se montrent par ailleurs, pour la satisfaction des femmes qui choisissent maintenant les sous-vêtements de leur compagnon.
Le changement majeur dans les usages de la lingerie féminine tiendrait surtout dans le renversement du rapport entre les femmes et ces objets de l'intime. Les jeux sur les dessous dessinent une identité féminine où l'initiative vient ou revient à la femme.

Est-ce que vous revendiquez d’une certaine manière votre liberté avec le choix de vos dessous?

Notre aliénation selon l’artiste Orlan

Mais attention à l’aliénation! Selon l’artiste Orlan, la beauté est devenue une obligation sociale au même titre que le travail et la politesse. Par provocation, Orlan revendique la tyrannie de la beauté et met en garde la société des stéréotypes attachés à la beauté féminine. Elle n'a pas hésité à modeler son corps pour en faire une œuvre d'art, allant jusqu'à utiliser la chirurgie esthétique à cette fin.
En savoir plus sur Orlan: www.orlan.net.

Et vous? Vous sentez-vous…

Dans l’obligation de vous mettre belle à chaque matin?

Obligée de respecter certains standards de beauté pour être socialement acceptée?

Est-ce que le choix de vos sous-vêtements vous fait sentir plus libre, confortable et bien dans votre peau?

Conscientisée ou indifférente face aux stéréotypes de beauté véhiculés dans notre société?

Conscientisée ou indifférente sur la RÉELLE liberté de la femme ?